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INTRODUCTION 

This pamphlet contains general information for 
starting a business. Use this brochure as a reference 
guide for general business requirements but not as 
legal or financial advice.  Filing fees and tax 
information were current on the date of publication, 
but you should verify them prior to finalizing your 
business plans. We suggest you discuss your 
business plans with an attorney and/or accountant. 
 
STATE LICENSES OR PERMITS REQUIREMENTS 
Some businesses require specific New York State 
licenses. The NYS License Center Assistance Unit 
defines a license as any required permit, 
registration, or similar form of authorization required 
by New York State. Examples of businesses 
requiring licenses are: restaurants, motor vehicle 
repair shops, beauty salons and barber shops, food 
establishments, and child day care centers. For 
assistance in identifying New York State license 
requirements, contact: 

 
 

NYS License Center Assistance 
State Campus, Building 4 

1220 Washington Avenue 
Albany, New York 12226 

518-453-8130 
 

Email: comments@elicensing.ny.gov 
www.licensecenter.ny.gov 

 
 

LOCAL LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
A person contemplating starting a business should 
be aware of local laws. It is important to contact the 
village, town, or city and county clerk where the 
business plans to locate. Examples of local 
considerations are zoning, parking, sign regulations, 
and certain occupational licenses such as 
auctioneers, electricians, and plumbers. It is 
advisable to contact your local government first. 
 

BUSINESS STRUCTURE REQUIREMENTS 
The most common forms of business structures are: 
sole proprietor, partnership, limited liability company, 
and corporation.  If you plan to conduct business 
under a name other than your own, you must 
register the name.  Keep in mind that registration is 
NOT permission to conduct business.  The following 
contains a brief outline of the most common business 
structures. 

 
SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP 

The simplest form of a business structure owned by 
one individual is a sole proprietorship.  All business 
responsibilities and decisions are those of the single 
owner. The owner of a sole proprietorship has 
unlimited liability for the business.  
Form: Certificate of Conducting Business as a Sole 

Proprietor.  Purchase this form from a legal 

stationery store in New York, through Blumberg 

Forms at 800-529-6278, or through their website at 
www.blumberglegalforms.com.  
Complete and notarize the form, then file it with the 
county clerk in each county where the business is 
located.  You usually need three copies:  the original 
for the county clerk, one for the bank to open an 
account, and one for the business. 
Fee: $25 plus $4-$5 for each certified copy. (The 

filing fee in the five counties within New York City is 
$100; certified copies are $10.) 
 

PARTNERSHIP 
A partnership is the relationship between two or 
more persons or companies that carry on a trade or 
business together. In the absence of a partnership 
agreement, the NYS Partnership Law sets forth the 
rights and duties of the partners. 
Form: Certificate of Conducting Business as 

Partners.  Purchase this form from a legal stationery 
store in New York, through Blumberg Forms at 800-
529-6278, or through their website at 
www.blumberglegalforms.com.  
Complete and notarize the form, then file it with the 
county clerk in each county where the business is 
located.  You usually need three copies:  the original 
for the county clerk, one for the bank to open an 
account, and one for the business. 
Fees: $25 plus $4-$5 for each certified copy. (The 

filing fee in the five counties within New York City is 
$100; certified copies are $10.) 
Limited Partnership: A limited partnership consists 

of one or more general partners with unlimited 
liability for all obligations incurred by the partnership 
and one or more limited partners whose liability is 
limited to the extent of his or her capital contribution. 
Form:  Certificate of Limited Partnership filed with 

the NYS Department of State, Division of 
Corporations.  NOTE:  Limited partnerships must 
publish a notice in two newspapers in the county 
where the business is located specifying the details 
of the limited partnership within 120 days after filing. 
Fees: $200. (See Corporations for contact 

information.) 

mailto:comments@elicensing.ny.gov
http://www.blumberglegalforms.com/


 
LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY 

A Limited Liability Company is an unincorporated 
business organization of one or more persons 
having limited liability for the contractual obligations 
and other liabilities of the business, other than a 
partnership or trust. 
Form:  Articles of Organization filed with the NYS 

Department of State, Division of Corporations.  (See 
Corporations for form information).    NOTE:  An LLC 
must publish a notice in two newspapers in the 
county where the business is located for six 
consecutive weeks specifying the details of the 
limited liability company within 120 days after filing.  
Fees: $5 for each name search, $20 for reservation 

of name, $200 for Articles of Organization, $25 each 
for affidavits of publication. 
Tax Information: The NYS Department of Taxation 

and Finance’s Publication 16, “New York Tax Status 
of Limited Liability Companies and Limited Liability 
Partnerships,” explains personal income tax and 
corporate franchise tax requirements and annual 
filing fees administered by the Department of 
Taxation and Finance.  This publication is available 
online.  Refer to the “Tax Information” section for 
additional requirements and contact information.  
 

CORPORATIONS 
A corporation is an entity separate and distinct from 
the individual(s) who own and manage the business. 
A corporation can sell, buy, and inherit property in its 
own name and is legally endowed with rights, 
powers, and duties in the conduct of lawful activities. 
Business corporations operate for profit and can 
raise capital by selling shares of interest in the 
corporation. A corporation's debts and obligations 
are distinctly its own. 
Form: Certificate of Incorporation.  Obtain this form 

from the NYS Department of State, purchase it from 
a legal stationery store in New York, have it 
prepared by an attorney, or apply online at 
www.dos.ny.gov. 
Fees: $5 for each name search, $20 for reservation 

of name, $125 for Certificate of Incorporation, and a 
minimum tax of $10 to cover stock issuance. 
Tax Information: Corporations must file a franchise 

tax report and pay a franchise tax for all or part of 
each calendar/fiscal year the corporation exists.  
They must file federal tax returns.  Refer to the “Tax 
Information” section for contact information. 
S Corporation: Under Section 1362 of the Internal 

Revenue Code, certain small business corporations 
may report income on personal tax returns. 

Individual shareholders who wish to obtain this 
option must file federal Form 2553. Once the 
Internal Revenue Service grants approval, you must 
file Election Form CT-6 with the NYS Department of 
Taxation and Finance. 
Not-for-Profit Corporation: Not-for-Profit 

corporations cannot distribute assets, income, and 
profits to the benefit of the members, directors, or 
officers except to the extent permitted by statute.  
The filing fee is $75 with the NYS Department of 
State. You must obtain non-profit status approval 
from the Internal Revenue Service before requesting 
approval from the NYS Department of Taxation and 
Finance. 
Foreign Corporation: The NYS Department of 

State authorizes an out-of-state corporation to 
conduct business in New York. The basic filing fee is 
$225 and a certificate of existence or good standing 
is always required from the jurisdiction that originally 
organized the corporation. 
 

Contact Information: 

NYS Department of State 
Division of Corporations 

518-473-2492 
www.dos.ny.gov  

To apply online:  www.dos.ny.gov 
 

TAX INFORMATION 
New York:  The NYS Department of Taxation and 

Finance's Publication 20, "New York State Tax 
Guide for New Businesses," provides basic 
information about New York’s tax laws and 
regulations. This publication outlines the procedures 
to follow and forms to file with the NYS Department 
of Taxation and Finance to fulfill tax obligations. 
 
Sales and Use Taxes:  If your business will sell 

tangible personal property or provide specific 
services in New York, the business is required to 
collect and remit NYS sales and local tax to the NYS 
Department of Taxation and Finance, usually on a 
quarterly basis.  Publication 750, “A Guide to Sales 
Tax in New York State,” has information on your tax 
obligations and how to obtain a “Certificate of 
Authority”.   The NYS Department of Taxation and 
Finance recommends filing for authority at least 20 
days before providing taxable sales or services. 
 

Contact Information: 

NYS Department of Taxation & Finance 
Sales Tax Registration 

W. Averill Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227 

Information/Forms:  518-485-2889 

www.tax.ny.gov 
To apply online:  www.licensecenter.ny.gov 

 
Federal:  For federal tax requirements, contact the 

Internal Revenue Service for a copy of “The Small 
Business Federal Tax Responsibilities.”  This 
publication contains general information on federal 
tax obligations such as estimated taxes and self-
employment tax, as well as various publications for 
starting a business.   
 
 

FEDERAL (EMPLOYER) IDENTIFICATION 
NUMBER 

An Employer Identification Number (EIN), also 
known as a federal tax identification number, 
identifies a business entity.  Generally, all 
businesses need a federal tax identification number.  
An EIN is a nine-digit number that the Internal 
Revenue Service assigns to a business.  The IRS 
uses the number to identify taxpayers that are 
required to file various business tax returns such as 
those for alcohol, tobacco, or firearms.  Employers, 
sole proprietorships, partnerships, limited liability 
companies, and corporations (including "S" 
corporations and not-for-profit organizations) as well 
as other business entities use EINs. 
Form: SS-4 Application for Employer Identification 

Number 
Contact Information: 

Internal Revenue Service 
 800-829-4933 

www.irs.gov 
To apply online:  www.irs.gov 

 
EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES 

The Federal government requires all employers to 
have their employees fill out Form I-9 and Form W-4.  
Federal employment taxes required are: Federal 
Income Tax Withholding, Social Security and 
Medicare Taxes (FICA), and Federal Unemployment 
Tax (FUTA).  The IRS’ Publication 15, “Circular E, 
Employer’s Tax Guide,” explains Federal tax 
responsibilities as an employer. 
 
Form I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification, obtain 

this form from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
Services at 1-800-870-3676 or www.uscis.gov. 
 
Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance 

Certificate, obtain this form from the Internal 
Revenue Service.  Call FORMS/PUBLICATIONS:  

800-829-3676 or INFORMATION:  800-829-1040 or 
visit:  www.irs.gov. 
 
 
New York State requires all employers to provide:  
Unemployment, Workers’ Compensation, and 
Disability Benefits insurances as well as comply with 
wage reporting and withholding tax requirements.  
The NYS Department of Taxation and Finance’s 
Publication NYS-50, “Employer’s Guide to 
Unemployment Insurance, Wage Reporting, and 
Withholding Tax,” explains NYS tax responsibilities 
as an employer. 
 
Unemployment Insurance: An employer who 

begins hiring employees to work in New York is 
required to pay contributions on the wages paid to 
their employees and must notify the NYS 
Department of Labor promptly to determine if they 
are liable.  The conditions for liability differ among 
business, non-profits, government, domestic, 
agricultural, and all other employees. 
 

Contact Information: 

NYS Department of Labor 
Unemployment Insurance Division 
518-457-4179 or 1-888-899-8810 

www.labor.ny.gov 
To apply online: www.labor.ny.gov 

 
Workers' Compensation Insurance: Provides 

protection to the employer from liability in the event 
of an on-the-job injury resulting in employee 
disability or death and to provide monetary relief and 
medical benefits to the injured worker.  This 
insurance is available through the NYS Insurance 
Fund at 888-875-5790, through their website at 
www.nysif.com, or through a private insurance 
carrier.  NOTE: Workers' Compensation is also 

available to sole proprietors or partners who have no 
employees. 
 
Disability Benefits Insurance:  Provides for the 

payment of cash benefits to employees who become 
disabled because of injuries or sickness that have 
no connection to their employment, and for 
disabilities arising from pregnancies.  Employers and 
employees may pay for this insurance jointly or 
solely by the employer.  This insurance is available 
through the NYS Insurance Fund at 888-875-5790, 
through their website at www.nysif.com, or through a 
private insurance carrier. 

http://www.dos.ny.gov/
http://www.tax.ny.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/
http://www.nysif.com/
http://www.nysif.com/

